Lady Gaga was definitely “born this way”. Her new cover on NME Magazine is  severely controversial these days.  For those of you who do not know, NME Magazine is the first for music news. Further, critics are saying Lady Gag’s new song “Born This Way” is ironically very similar to Madonna’s “Express Yourself.”

“I swear to you. I am not stupid enough to put out a record and be that moronic” Lady Gaga insists to NME Magazine. “Listen to me. Why the f–k…? I’m a songwriter. I’ve written loads of music. Why would I try to put out a song and think I’m getting one over on everybody? That’s retarded. What a completely ridiculous thing to even question me about.”

Not only were people taken back by her racy cover picture and the fact that she was copying Madonna’s song, but they were annoyed with her word choice. Lady Gaga used the word “retarded” which upset readers immensely.

After the interview, Lady Gaga was reportedly crying because she was concerned about her fans thinking she plagiarizes her songs when in all actuality she doesn’t. She mistakenly used the word “retard” because she was shocked that people were so upset about her so-called “plagiarism.”

From a PR standpoint, I think she should have handled herself better. I understand people make mistakes, but she could have controlled herself and not used the term “retard.” People tend to read too much into words, but even my parents have taught me to not use that terminology. Also, I think the magazine cover is a little much, even for Lady Gaga! She is practically naked.

What are your standpoints on her cover photo and her comparison to Madonna?

